The governance bodies of ANSO are

The General Assembly

The General Assembly is the highest decision-making body of ANSO, and it shall be empowered, subject to the provisions of these Statutes, to make decisions on all critical, major matters relating to ANSO; The General Assembly elects the Governing Board.

The Governing Board

The Governing Board is the executive body of the ANSO General Assembly, and consists of the ANSO President, two Vice Presidents and six others elected by ANSO members.

The Secretariat

The Secretariat manages the operations of ANSO and implements the decisions made by the Governing Board and General Assembly under the leadership of an Executive Director. . The ANSO Secretariat has three divisions, covering Information and Communication, Science Planning and Consultation, and Capacity Building and Training.

In addition to the three divisions of the Secretariat, the ANSO Working Group is established to promote and maintain routine communication and interaction among ANSO members.

  • ANSO President

    Prof. Chunli BAI

    Chinese Academy of Sciences

    Prof. Chunli Bai, a chemist and an expert in nanoscience, is the former President of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), and Chairman of the Presidium of the Academic Divisions of CAS. He is also President of The World Academy of Sciences for the advancement of science in developing countries (TWAS), the Honorary President of the University of Science and Technology of China (USTC), and the Honorary President of the University of Chinese Academy of Sciences (UCAS). Prof. BAI’s research areas include organic molecular crystal structure, EXAFS, molecular nanostructure, and scanning tunneling microscopy. He has been elected member or foreign member of world-known academies of sciences or engineering in approximately 20 countries and territories, including CAS, TWAS, National Academy of Sciences of US, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Royal Society of UK, the European Academy of Sciences, and the Russian Academy of Sciences.

  • ANSO Vice-President

    Prof. Alexander Sergeev

    Russian Academy of Sciences

    Prof. Alexander Mikhaylovich Sergeev, a Russian physicist, is President of the Russian Academy of Sciences. Prof. Sergeev studied physics at Gorky State University. After graduation, he worked as a researcher at the Institute of Applied Physics of the Russian Academy of Sciences at Gorky, currently Nizhny Novgorod. He received his PhD in 1982, and spent his whole scientific career at the same institute. In 2015, he became the Director of the Institute. The main research interest of Prof. Sergeev is nonlinear phenomena in physics including plasma physics and physics of femtosecond lasers. Specifically, he guided development of petawatt-class laser in the Institute of Applied Physics RAS.

  • ANSO Vice-President

    Dr. Narong Sirilertworakul

    National Science and Technology Development Agency

    Dr. Narong Sirilertworakul is currently the President of the National Science and Technology Development Agency (NSTDA). His key roles contributing to an international scientific community include serving the Alliance of International Science Organizations (ANSO); Advisory Board member of Chinese Academy of Sciences - the Innovation Cooperation Center Bangkok (CAS-ICCB); High Commissioner of the World Business Angels Investment Forum (WBAF); Corresponding Member of the European Association of Research and Technology Organizations (EARTO); Council member of Science and Technology in Society Forum (STS Forum), Japan; and Advisory Board member of the Global Young Academy (GYA). 

Contact Us